of Scotland, Scottish Borders
The region's gentle, wooded
landscape rising to rounded hills is at odds with its violent
history -- this border country saw numerous clashes between Scots
and English, as its ruined castles and abbeys attest. And
each year towns like Hawick remember the stormy past with the
Common Ridings. Sir Walter Scott made the area famous, drawing
his inspiration from the countryside and its people.
Sir Walter Scott's home
set above the Tweed. Originally a farm-house, Scott largely rebuilt
it in 1822. Inside are 9000-book library, armour collection, historical
relics and paintings.
and Longcroft Hill-Forts
Two Iron Age hill-forts
built less than a mile apart. They were constructed about 27 centuries
ago to protect their makers' settlements.
Village of stone and
stucco houses with 16th-century cross on its green. Border wars
victims were said to have sheltered in Ale Water caves nearby.
Battle of 1545 on Ancrum Moor between Scots and English still
Little bridge over Rule
Water has single inn set beside it. Bonchester Hill, with traces
of ancient hill-fort, overlooks bridge.
Georgian mansion frequented
by Queen Victoria. Inside are paintings by Canaletto, Gainshorough
and Reynolds. Trails explore estate's wooded hills and lochs.
Upright boulder marks
border between Scotland and England.
1370ft Carter Bar has views of Rubers Law and the Cheviots.
Three Roman earthwork
camps and small permanent fortlet; earliest camp dates from AD
80 when Agricola, Governor of Britain, was subjugating fierce
Scots killed in 1513
Battle of Findden Field buried nearby. Cold-stream Guards, though
not raised here, took their name in memory of marching through
here to defeat Richard Cromwell and place Charles II on the throne.
Village with large green
set above salmon-rich River Teviot. Victorian monument honours
local scholar John Leyden, plaque honours Sir James Murray, Oxford
ruin, sacked by English invaders in 14th and 16th centuries. Remains
include delicate rose window in west wall. Sir Walter Scott, Field-Marshal
Earl Haig are buried here.
Birthplace of Thomas
the Rhymer, 13th-century seer and poet. Wall fragment of his tower
remains, hidden behind a cafe.
Hills, rich in legend,
rise 1385ft over Tweed valley, suitable for climbing. Northernmost
summit of three hills held largest Iron Age fort in Scotland,
site of a Roman signal station later.
Ancient seat of Kerr
family. Story of 16th-century frontier fortress and history of
Georgian structure with
19th-century turrets and domes. Collections of paintings, porcelain,
tapestries and furniture. Walled garden with herbaceous borders
Tweed and woollen industry
centre has produced wool since medieval times. Peter Anderson
Museum, Borders Wool Centre tell story of tweeds and tartans.
Braw Lads' Gathering re-creates town's past every June.
tower built 1581 by James Seton. Clock-wise staircase gave retreating
defenders advantage of an unhindered sword arm while attacker's
would be hindered.
Border town famous for
knitwear and rugby, largely destroyed by English in 1570. Museum
tells knitwear history. Festival of Common Riding every summer
recalls past, when townsfolk rude around town ensuring other towns
had not encroached on their common land.
on Hermitage Water. Violent history recalls stories of death by
boiling, drowning and starvation. Mary, Queen of Scots rode here
in 1566 to visit her lover Bothwell, who lay wounded.
Country residence of
Lord Home, former Prime Minister. Grounds are open to public,
stable yard now houses folk museum and craft centre. Picnic site
and paths through grounds.
Mary, Queen of Scots
stayed here -- her house now an information centre. Jedburgh Abbey,
founded 1138, with tower and roofless nave. Castle jail converted
to museum of Victorian prison life.
Town at confluence of
Tweed and Teviot rivers with wide square, elegant houses and five-arched
bridge. Kelso Abbey, now in ruins, was founded in 1128 by monks
from Chartres, in France.
and Town Yetholm
Twin villages in foothills
of Cheviots. Town Yetholm is larger, Kirk Yetholm, where gypsy
queens were crowned until 19th century, is older. Gypsy Palace,
a tiny cottage, still stands.
Tolbooth and several
large inns indicate town's importance in coaching days. Thirlestane
Castle, a turreted sandstone mansion, has family portraits by
Gains-borough and others. Border Country Life Museum nearby.
Church retains much original
12th-century interior. Its Norman arch of red stone is one of
Georgian house built
by William Adam and his son, Robert. Interior features exquisite
ceilings. Italian-style terraced gardens give wide views of the
Town clustered around
12th-century abbey, founded in 1136 by David I .for Cistercian
monks. Badly damaged in border wars. Melrose Motor Museum illustrates
Walled garden and ancient
circular dovecote are featured. Twenty acres of trees, flowering
shrubs, herbs and views of nearby river.
Garden specialises in
flowers suit-able for drying. Unusual strains of apples are grown,
some known since Roman times. Picnic areas and orchard walks.
Remains of Roxburgh Castle
stand above confluence of Teviot and Tweed rivers. Present village,
3 miles south of original site, has views of Kelso.
Hill, nearly 1400ft high,
is topped by remains of Iron Age fort. Excellent fort site --
no attacking party could approach without being detected by defenders.
Sir Walter Scott's favourite
prospect allows views of River Tweed curving through woods below
peaks of Fildon Hills.
Sir Walter Scott sat
as sheriff in town courthouse from 1800-32. Halliwell House is
now a museum illustrating Selkirk history. The Clapperton Daylight
Photographic Studio has photographs which date from the 1860s.
with 7ft thick walls sits on isolated crag. Surprisingly, it now
houses museum of dolls and tapestries rather than more warlike
Monument honouring Duke
of Wellington is prominent land-mark on top of Peniel Heugh Hill.
Built in 1815 by Marquis of Lothian and his tenants.
Langland family's ancestral
home, now containing museum of border history. Wilton Park covers
107 acres and has riverside walks, garden, greenhouses, and scented
Hilltop of 1388ft once
had Roman legions stationed on it; Iron Age people lived there
before that. Good walking in the surrounding Cheviot hills.